"octave." A platform for artists’ presentation of the process of their critical engagement and creation
2013.01.05 - 06, 12 - 13, 19 - 20 | "Final stage of artists' presentation": 2013.01.13 (Sunday) / 3:00 pm
The A.lift Gallery 'PROJECT'
Ft 804 & Ft 1003, Blk A, Wah Luen Industrial Centre, 15-21 Wong Chuk Yeung St., Shatin, N.T., Hong Kong.

The A‧lift Gallery ‘PROJECT’ is going to present a unique platform, which is different from its previous curatorial frameworks, in Fotanian Open Studios 2013. We invited a group of local artists to share their art practices and concepts behind their artworks. Through regular meetings, they made comments and critique about each other’s ideas and works. From concept to the production and completion or incompletion of an artwork, it goes beyond just an artist making his or her own art, but is a platform provoking multiple-perspective thinking and self-reflection. This project encourages dialogues and ideas exchange among artists so as to open up more possibilities. It means to present a process rather than a set of completed artworks.  We will also invite audiences to make critical intervention during the period of Fotanian Open Studios.

About the title:

In music, an octave is the interval of eight diatonic degrees between two tones of the same note, where the higher has twice or half of the frequency of vibration of the lower. We hope that the process of open-minded discussion and communication brings out an elevation of a concept, just like ascending sequence on a scale. We can also refer to Erik Homburger Erikson’s Theory of Psychosocial Development. It points out that life can be divided into eight distinct stages. From the first stage to the eighth stage, it can be a sense of integrity and fulfillment or a feeling of despair. Making art tends to go through these stages as well.

Exhibition Details:
Date: 2013.01.05 - 06, 12 - 13, 19 - 20
Time: 14:00 - 19:00
Venue: Ft 804 & Ft 1003, Blk A, Wah Luen Industrial Centre, 15-21 Wong Chuk Yeung St., Shatin, N.T., Hong Kong.
Presented by: The A·lift Gallery 'PROJECT'

Download Press release pdf




我借用心理學家愛利克•艾瑞克森 (Erik Homburger Erikson) 的心理社會發展理論 (Theory of Psychosocial Development),人的一生分為八個階段,而每一個階段都有其獨特的成長狀態。我嘗試將此套用於藝術家創作的過程中,我們所見的藝術品,大多數同樣經歷著如此的八階而成。由第一階至第八階,那可是一個圓滿的提昇,也許是一個完全的絕望。正因藝術家及其作品所受的歷練,那正是我們欣賞它們與價值所在的地方。

日期:2013.01.05 - 06, 12 - 13, 19 - 20
主辨︰提藝廊 'PROJECT'

下載新聞稿 pdf